Thinking & Feeling

“The world is a tragedy to those who feel, but a comedy to those who think.” Horace Walpole

Monday, 2 February 2009

Love Languages - Revisited

I have blogged about this and taken this test before. Almost exactly a year ago actually.

Things were not going well in my marriage. It was an attempt at trying to discover how we both worked and whether I could use it to make a difference. I was being ignored (almost completely) and was grasping at any attempt to fix the situation.

I was thinking of this recently and was wondering if I had changed at all in the past year or so now that I am in a totally different place and situation..?

Last year my Love Language balance was:

My Primary Love Language is Quality Time

My Detailed Results:
Quality Time: 10
Acts of Service: 8
Physical Touch: 7
Words of Affirmation: 5
Receiving Gifts: 0

I wanted to have quality time (i.e. not just sitting mute in front of the TV!), then to be helped with stuff (and not just left to do everything alone), then to be touched, and then affirmed. Gifts - especially empty and meaningless gifts are NOT important to me. Interpersonal stuff is.


I just retook the test and my current results are:

My Primary Love Language is Physical Touch

My Detailed Results:
Physical Touch: 11
Quality Time: 8
Words of Affirmation: 7
Receiving Gifts: 2
Acts of Service: 2

At the moment I relish being touched! I love meaningful and comfortable natural physical contact, then quality time and then affirmation. The way I see it I can buy myself stuff, and can do stuff myself or hire someone else to do it. It's not what I necessarily need from a partner. From a partner I like to feel wanted and appreciated and like they like being near and with me just BEING together.


  1. mine:

    Score Love Language
    7 Words of Affirmation
    9 Quality Time
    4 Receiving of Gifts
    1 Acts of Service
    9 Physical Touch

  2. This is very cool Jane - nice to compare it like that :)